ACL 2003

Paper Submission Instruction to Authors

ACL-03 features special sessions for interactive posters and demonstrations. Poster/Demo presentations present original and significant work in progress, on-going research projects with novel ideas/applications, or late-breaking results that are best communicated in an interactive format.

Interactive Poster/Demo sessions provide a forum of academic and technical exchanges and are completely separated from the Industrial Exhibition that takes place also on the conference site.

The topics of interest cover the same area of the main conference. See the full paper submission information.

The authors should submit an original paper (of no more than 4 pages in ACL format) that describes and emphasizes the problem of the research and the novelty of the methods or theories being used. Presentations with demos should outline the design of their systems and provide sufficient details to allow the evaluation of their validity, quality and usefulness. They should also describe the equipments required for the demonstration.

All the Poster/Demo submissions will be reviewed by an international program committee.

Presentation Style of the Interactive Poster/Demo Sessions

The Interactive Poster/Demo Sessions run in the afternoons of July 9 and 10, 2003. Each presentation will receive a booth with a 1.8m x 0.6m desk and a 1.8m x 2.1m panel. Network connection and electricity outlets will be supplied to each booth. One paper will be allocated for 3 hours of poster and demo presentation as well as 5 munites oral presentation in the next room, both of which take place on the same day.

The Poster/Demo papers are allocated 4 pages which will be included in the companion volume of the conference proceedings.

Submission Information

Submissions should follow the two-column format of ACL proceedings and should not exceed four (4) pages, including references. We strongly recommend the use of ACL LaTeX style files or Microsoft Word Style files tailored for this year's conference. A description of the format will also be available in case you are unable to use these style files directly. As reviewing will be blind, the paper should not include the authors' names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author's identity should be avoided. The papers with a demo that requires a special consideration should describe the requirements just before the introductory session of the paper.

Submission Procedure

All papers must be submitted electronically via email to the following address. Either a PDF or PS file must be sent as an attached file. Please use the first author's surname to name the file. In case two or more papers are submitted by the same author, follow the file name by a numeral to distinguish them. The Subject field should be "ACL03 Poster/Demo submission". Please include the name, affiliation and email address of the contact person in the body of your email. The papers must be submitted no later than 12 noon Greenidge Mean Time (GMT) on May 1st, 2003. Papers submitted after that time will not be reviewed.

Submit papars to:

PDF file illustrating the format


PS file illustrating the format

Sample latex file


Style file for latex


Bibliography formatting file for latex


MSWord doc file


Important Dates

Paper submission deadline:

May 1, 2003 (deadline passed)

Notification of acceptance:

May 20, 2003

Camera ready copy due:

June 3, 2003

Program Committee for Interactive Poster/Demo sessions


Yuji Matsumoto, NAIST (Japan)

PC members:

Tilman Becker, DFKI (Germany)

Rens Bod, University of Amsterdam (the Netherlands)

Christian Boitet, Universite Joseph Fourier (France)

Harry Bunt, Tilburg University (the Netherlands)

Sharon Caraballo, Georgetown University (U.S.A.)

John Caroll, University of Sussex (U.K.)

Hsin-Hsi Chen, National Taiwan University (Taiwan)

Lee-Feng Chien, Academia Sinica (Taiwan)

Hai Leong Chieu, DSO National Laboratories (Singapore)

Pascale Fung, University of Science and Technology (Hong Kong)

Graeme Hirst, University of Tronto (Canada)

Kentaro Inui, NAIST (Japan)

Genichiro Kikui, ATR (Japan)

Sadao Kurohashi, The University of Tokyo (Japan)

Kui-Lam Kwok, City University of New York (U.S.A.)

Maria Lapata, School of Informatics (U.K.)

Gary Geunbae Lee, POSTECH (Korea)

Jong-Hyeok Lee, POSTECH (Korea)

Hang Li, Microsoft (China)

Dan Melamed, New York University (U.S.A.)

Dan Moldovan, University of Texas at Dallas (U.S.A.)

Manny Rayner, RIACS (U.S.A.)

Satoshi Sekine, New York University (U.S.A.)

Bangalore Srinivas, AT&T (U.S.A.)

Key-Yih Su, BDC Corp (Taiwan)

Takenobu Tokunaga, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan)

Thomas Fang Zheng, Tsinghua University (China)

Michael Zock, LIMSI (France)